Keep it clean, please

Last Saturday a good friend of me, Jo came to my house to teach me how to cook bone soup. I don’t know much how to cook cow’s bone. What I did was just referring to cook book in order to cook.

It’s different having a mentor than having reading a book. I learn a lot just by seeing him cooking and hearing tips from his mouth.

One of the most important things he said was to keep all clean. He learn it from his mother. She is a strict person about cleanness  It then inherited by him. I wonder how strict his mom his? “You know, if I forget to throw rubbish bag plastic, it then will be on my bed,” said him.

All of materials to cook must keep clean. All must be washed thoroughly so that no contamination happen. Before this, I just wash vegetables and all sort of cooking materials slightly. For me, in the end it will put inside our mouth and then go straight to our stomach.

“That is why people easily get cancer,” said him.

We start by cutting onions and garlic. The onion and garlic were sure a lot as I never cook with more than 5 onion and garlic. Jo said that this was because we will cook in a big pot. The materials must be enough so that the food will taste good.

Is there will be any seasoning like Ajinomoto? Nope, he said. He prefer natural taste, although he did put Chicken cubes in the soup.

While cooking I too need to wash utensils used. Before this I thought it was better to wash all the utensils after the foods are ready to eat. But Jo insist that the behavior is not appropriate as we cook we too must make sure the surrounding around the kitchen clean.

This will make our kitchen clean and easy to use. More over, less work after cook and we can enjoy our meal better.

He too used newspapers as a lining while chopping vegetables. Well, I had learned this before from my friend.

At first I thought not to cook rice as I will send all of the foods to my friends room to be enjoyed together, then the rain pouring hard outside my kuarters. Then Jo insist in teaching me a technique to cook great rice. He put some onion, lemon grass and ginger in rice pot cooked together with the rice. It was a great deal to attract people to eat rice. It will smell better if putted together with pandan leaf.

For me, it was alright if occasionally cook rice with coconut milk but not good if cooked regularly. We might get heart attack as coconut milk is rich with cholesterol.

Later after the soup and rice cooked, it was time to put all of that together on a dinner table. I watched he used the technique he learned while he was working as a waiter in 5 stars hotel.

He organized it neatly and it sure looks excellent. It was far different from what my family was used to. We will just put foods on plates and nothing need to be done to decorate it. That is why I don’t bother much about food taste as long as it can eaten.

The soup taste great. I love it. On that day, I learn a lot from him. Cleanness is the main thing I should consider when I cook. This make our foods different from what hawkers and restaurants all around Malaysia. With cleanness, it teach me about how important to stay on course while cooking.

Leave a Reply

